Language Exchange Partners Teachers
Learners: Find Teachers  Create Profile FAQ's Login
Teachers & Schools: Find Learners  Create Profile FAQ's Login
Welcome Guest!   Log in   Sign up
Find Teachers    Find Learners    Self-study
Self-study: Lessons  - Quizzes  - Articles  - Create
Welcome Guest!

Home
Online Language Courses
Jobs
Contact Us
Join!

Read Teacher Reviews - John Stewart Priest

Review of John Stewart Priest by Shree and all follow-up messages:

Rating Comments
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Shree
February 8, 2017


Lead Acquired:
September 18, 2016

Hours of Instructions:
40
Excellent Greek instructor

Mr John Stuart Priest is a very friendly and approachable teacher. My experience of studying classical Attic Greek with him has been an entirely positive one. Besides being very knowledgeable about the subject matter, Mr. Priest is brilliant at explaining difficult grammar in ways which are easy to remember and understand. I would highly recommend Mr. Priest to anyone interested in learning classical or modern languages.



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or Shree only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Olin Gan
August 28, 2015


Lead Acquired:
July 21, 2015

Hours of Instructions:
15
Learning Latin from an interesting linguist

Within a month, I have already finished Book One . Additionally, JP teaches me the history of some languages and the interesting British history.
JP teaches in a gradual and inspiring way so I never feel bored in class.
Fairly speaking, the tuition fee is kind of expensive for me.



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or Olin Gan only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Stephanie Matushoneck
November 11, 2014


Lead Acquired:
October 16, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
4
So knowledgeable

Mr Priest is not only a wealth of knowledge regarding Scottish Gaelic, but such an understanding and accommodating teacher. I am thoroughly enjoying my lessons and look forward to continuing them. His encouragement while learning my new language keeps me motivated to continue learning. I highly recommend him as a teacher.
Stephanie Matushoneck



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or Stephanie Matushoneck only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: cwsprague
October 22, 2014


Lead Acquired:
July 22, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
6
Very knowledgeable, helpful teacher

I'm in the US and decided I'd like to learn some Scottish Gaelic. I had purchased a book and CDs to learn on my own, but it was difficult enough that I really never got into it. Too many questions and not enough specific info to be found in the book.

There's not a lot Scottish Gaelic to be found in California, so I searched online for someone who could help me remotely. This led me to this website, and to John's profile.

He was very quick to reply to my initial inquiry, and he was very accommodating to my busy schedule. I've had approximately 6 one hour lessons with John so far, and they're always fun. I really like languages, so sometimes when he's explaining a grammar point, he might go on a brief tangent about some other language, and when he does it's always interesting, informative, and fun.

This fellow really knows languages. I don't know how many he's familiar with, but he seems to know lots about languages that he doesn't officially speak, either. I find it quite amazing.

I enjoy my lessons with him very much, and find the cost quite reasonable for this type of specialized one on one tutoring. The fact that he has a good sense of humor makes things even better!





Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or cwsprague only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Genie
October 19, 2014


Lead Acquired:
September 30, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
4
Passionate teacher!

I've had had so many different tutors when I was learning another language a few years back that I became somewhat skeptical about tutors who claim to be able to teach (despite being native speakers), and the few who can actually really teach!

And I do believe I found one in Mr. Priest!

I am currently learning Latin under Mr. Priest and I think most of the reviews here have said it all: he knows his stuff, and he's good at teaching it.
His wealth of knowledge and experience comes from one place: his passion for languages. And it is something I believe he wishes to impart to his students.

You can really sense the level of enthusiasm when he teaches, and he is also a very patient teacher (in fact, he gets really excited when you ask questions, which I'm sure most students would agree that it really encourages and motivates you in your learning journey.) I am the type of student who asks a lot of questions!

I doubt Mr. Priest is aware of this but he really gets you thinking when he teaches instead of spoon-feeding you everything like what dry textbooks do. (Not talking about the intentional ones he does to make your mind boggle lol!) And I think this is wonderful because it not only helps you to be actively engaged in your learning (which helps you improve faster, etc), it opens up many possibilities as well.

Sometime in the future, I intend to pick up Ancient Greek under Mr. Priest as well!



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or Genie only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Brian
July 21, 2014


Lead Acquired:
July 9, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
4
Teaching the Language Rationally

My lessons with John are my first skype lessons ever, and he has made them a very pleasant and rewarding experience for me. I took French with him, and as an erudite professional in languages, he has been able to explain everything in terms that suit my knowledge and situation. For example, I am from a Southeast Asian background and have done a bit of Western ancient languages before; he is able to relate his explanations to Japanese and Latin, and at due length. He also gave me good resources, general and specific, to improve.

While esoteric knowledge may make him seem cool and distant, he is in fact very friendly and humorous, and made the atmosphere of the lesson lively. Even the digressions he sometimes makes are interesting and noteworthy in their own right. Thanks John!



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or Brian only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: maharishi
May 28, 2014


Lead Acquired:
May 1, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
6
A true linguist!

Mr. John Stewart Priest is a talented linguist and amazing teacher with so much depth of knowledge with regards to the historical, sociological and cultural development of languages. I truly enjoy our weekly classes of Attic Greek, and to be honest I never expected it to be so enjoyable and fascinating. If you are seeking intellectually stimulating and rich language classes Mr. Priest is definitely the one! Highly recommended!



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or maharishi only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Danielle
July 13, 2013


Lead Acquired:
January 20, 2013

Hours of Instructions:
25
Knowledgeable instructor who is flexible, interesting and fun.

I have been taking lessons with John for the last few months and am very pleased with his teaching style and flexibility in scheduling lessons. Although I am studying specifically to pass an exam, I am so encouraged by John's enthusiasm, expertise and knowledge of the history surrounding the Irish Gaelic language I intend to continue lessons with him following my exam. I highly recommend John, he assists in trying to help the learner master accurate pronunciations, adds interesting facts that help with retaining new concepts and uses/recommends numerous helpful resources.



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or Danielle only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: chris johnston
February 10, 2013


Lead Acquired:
October 28, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
22
Johns a true language master

I'm taking Japanese lessons with John and he is a fountain of knowledge on languages! i've actually lost count of how many languages he actually teaches lol

he keeps his lessons with me interesting as he also knows a lot of history on language so I'm brushing up on my history knowledge as well when I speak with john.

lessons are very flexible which suits me as my work can be a bit all over the place

Chris



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or chris johnston only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Shell
December 2, 2012


Lead Acquired:
July 12, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
20
Excellent!

I highly recommend John. He is a font of information on languages and linguistics. His patience knows no bounds and he is fun to work with. Although life has put my lessons on hold, I will be back.

I can't recommend John enough!



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or Shell only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Ashleigh
November 6, 2012


Lead Acquired:
June 15, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
24
Maith Amach!

I am incredibly happy with the instruction that Mr Priest provides. He goes out of his way every lesson to bring you new and relevant information that will help.

I asked Mr Priest to taech me the Ulster dialect of Irish and after discovering I was from Tyrone he has since been teaching me how to modify my Irish into this extinct dialect. Something I am very pleased about. He researches everything himself and then teaches it to you in a way you can understand. He can also recommend great resources to help with your study.

Mr Priest is a language scholar and I can not imagine that there is a better teacher out there!



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or Ashleigh only)
Score: 4 stars of 5
By: Andrew
September 2, 2012


Lead Acquired:
June 25, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
9
Totally into languages and learning

I was in Edinburgh for a month and had 6 Japanese lessons of 1.5 hours each with John. I had absolutely no knowledge of this language. My first language is English, and my others are Spanish and German.

John was flexible with lesson times and places, and very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about Japanese. He was always polite, clear, and encouraging. I worked fairly hard and he was capable of changing the pace of the lesson, and also interjecting with interesting cultural comments and points about the language's history.

He is obviously utterly passionate about languages, he loves grammar, and he is an experienced and keen teacher.

I would definitely get in touch with him and try him as your tutor.



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or Andrew only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Maria
December 8, 2011


Lead Acquired:
August 10, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
5
Fantastic experience

I have been working with John for a while now and am thoroughly enjoying my lessons. He does a terrific job of listening to and answering my questions. The time is spent on my language needs, whatever they may be. Particularly helpful is using examples from other languages I have studied to aid in my current studies. His flexibility with scheduling serves an encouragement to stay on top of my studies.



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or Maria only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: tacitus
July 2, 2011


Lead Acquired:
March 19, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
16
great

John is a great teacher. I strongly recommend him to anyone willing to learn French, Japanese, Italian and Irish



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or tacitus only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: hmholgate
June 30, 2011


Lead Acquired:
May 14, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
4
A friendly and knowledgeable teacher, willing to tailor to your specific needs.

John is an excellent teacher, with an easy, friendly manner and a wealth of knowledge on Portuguese. He has made a special effort to investigate pronunciation differences particular to my circumstances, and approaches lessons in an easy to follow manner, drawing on my knowledge of French to help me understand concepts and rules. He has been particularly helpful with grammatical points and pronunciation. I would recommend him.



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or hmholgate only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Nick
June 29, 2011


Lead Acquired:
September 11, 2010

Hours of Instructions:
40
TICHER WHO KNOWS HOW AND WHAT TO TEACH

WE ARE NEW EMIGRANTS FROM RUSSIA IN CANADA. MY YOUNGER DAUGHTER DECIDED THAT SHE WANTS TO LEARN A LATIN.WE FOUND JOHN OVER THE INTERNET,HE TEACHES HER ONCE A WEEK,AND SHE CAN NOT WAIT TILL THE NEXT LESSON!!! VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE, POLITE AND VERY EASY GOING PERSON WITH MY KID.
SASHA HAVEN A HUGE JUMP IN HERE SCHOOL IN ALMOST EVERY SUBJECT,AND IT IS REALLY BECAUSE WE FEEL JOHN TEACHING IS SO GOOD.
I'M SORRY MY ENGLISH IS NOT THAT GOOD,AND I EXPRESS MYSELF A BID DIFFERENT,- TO MY EXCUSE I CAME TO CANADA AS AN ADULT,AND DID NOT HAVE AN OPPORTUNITY TO BE A JOHN'S STUDENT...
JOHN STEWART PRIEST SIMPLY THE BEST TEACHER WE HAVE EVER SEEN,A MONUMENTAL PERSON IN OUR LIFE.
THANK YOU AGAIN JOHN!!!
HAPPY FATHER,
NIKOLAI ANGELOVSKY




Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or Nick only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Dion Peters
June 28, 2011


Lead Acquired:
May 26, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
5
Incredible Knowledge!!

I first was skeptic at learning Gaelic over correspondence , i am a 1 on 1 person when it comes to learning. How i was wrong! John provides this and more! The lessons John has been providing far succeed my expectations, Johns lessons are extremely informative and i find it incredible how he knows so much about each language he teaches and not only that the history behind it all! When i told john i want to learn Gaelic he asked me what dialect! During lessons John will explain the meanings of words and the history behind the language. There is no way i could find a teacher with this knowledge and experience in Australia, not to mention Ireland these days! ,you only have to look at his reviews and qualifications to see that John is a true Linguist and a great teacher and i look forward with Johns help to graduating in Gaelic!



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or Dion Peters only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Daniel D
January 24, 2011


Lead Acquired:
August 3, 2010

Hours of Instructions:
12
Inspiring and Effective Lessons

I've been learning Japanese with John, and I find his teaching style to be a brilliant match for my learning style.

He's very good at explaining the whys and wherefores of the language in a way I can grasp, which is especially important when learning a language so vastly different from English as Japanese.

He's a patient teacher, and always willing to go the extra mile, such as answering questions by email. It shows that he has a lot of experience under his belt when it comes to teaching languages, and is aware of the pitfalls new learners encounter.

I'd highly recommend John as a teacher, especially if you have the kind of mind that wants to understand all aspects of the language, rather than just learning it parrot fashion.

Most of all, lessons are enjoyable, informative, and the time seems to fly by.



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or Daniel D only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Paul
August 25, 2010


Lead Acquired:
September 27, 2009

Hours of Instructions:
60
Man who enjoys his job

John is a true professional. He enjoys his work and is not just a teacher of languages, but loves to explain other aspects of the language. Not many instructors can teach you the origins of the words and how it changed. By doing so, he makes the class more interesting. I highly recommend John.



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or Paul only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Mun-Ee
August 6, 2010


Lead Acquired:
June 14, 2010

Hours of Instructions:
22
Great teacher and very knowledgeable.

John is a great instructor and extremely knowledgeable in the language he teaches. Not only is he personable, but very patient. Being flexible in his teaching methods creates a more conducive environment to learn. John can gather, from many sources, the information needed to make a lesson plan and he will cater to whatever the students wants/needs to learn.



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or Mun-Ee only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Brian Harwood
April 24, 2010


Lead Acquired:
August 9, 2009

Hours of Instructions:
20
John Stewart Priest is an excellent teacher.

After my first lesson with John, I could tell that I was dealing with a true scholar, a masterful linguist. As a student of philosophy trained to ask probing questions, I certainly put him to the test. I sought the structure, the meaning, the historical context, the essence of the language. He answered every question in thorough detail. His presentation was patient, clear and precise, accessible even to the neophyte yet enough to satisfy the seasoned scholar. John distinguishes himself in a market that is otherwise flooded with superficial language programs.



Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or Brian Harwood only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: diane ferguson
January 11, 2010


Lead Acquired:
March 31, 2008

Hours of Instructions:
100
Excellent teacher 5/5!

After two years of looking for a Classical Greek teacher, I have found through your website not only an internet instructor but a gifted professor. John Priest has exceeded all of my expectations. It cannot be expressed any more truly or simply.
Mr. Priest is a gifted teacher. Not only does he instruct me but also my twelve (now 13 year old) child through the same complexities with patients and enthusiasm. He inspires us both. Latin and Greek may be “dead” languages especially to our many American friends. But John’s knowledge of etymology and history related to the languages makes it anything but a dead study to us. He has as ease of style in teaching while maintaining progress and high standards. I have even begun Italian as well.
I studied Medicine in the United States requiring eleven years of college and post graduate studies. I am hard pressed to think of a professor I have had as enthusiastic or knowledgeable as Mr Priest.





Add a follow-up message (John Stewart Priest or diane ferguson only)





View Teacher Profile






Featuring over 91 languages, including...
English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Korean, Chinese (Mandarin), Chinese (Cantonese), Portuguese, Russian, Thai, Swedish, Greek, Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Middle Eastern), Arabic (Moroccan), Arabic (other)

Online courses and tutors:
English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Korean, Chinese (Mandarin), Chinese (Cantonese), Portuguese, Russian, Thai, Swedish, Greek, Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Middle Eastern), Arabic (Moroccan), Arabic (other)

To view all languages, please click here.

Featuring locations all over the world, including...
London, New York City, Toronto, Buenos Aires, Montreal, Los Angeles, Chicago, Paris, Sydney, Tokyo, Tehran, Kuala Lumpur, Madrid, Melbourne, Houston, Istanbul, Taipei, Boston, Barcelona, San Diego, Atlanta, Bangalore, Seattle, San Francisco, Bangkok, Mumbai, Vancouver, Singapore, Dallas, Philadelphia, Manchester, Miami, Chennai, Karachi, Shanghai, Beijing, Sao Paulo, Cairo, Dubai, Seoul, Washington DC, Brisbane, Manila, Moscow, Hyderabad, Ottawa, Portland, California, Calgary, Lahore, Auckland, Lima, Orlando, Delhi, Jakarta, Perth, Dublin, Zagreb, Columbus, Rome, Denver, Sacramento, Milan, Phoenix, Detroit, Mexico City, Ankara, Pittsburgh, Athens, Birmingham, Minneapolis, Las Vegas, San Jose, Osaka, Quebec City, Berlin, Bucharest, Brooklyn, Edmonton, Glasgow, Pune, New Delhi

To view all locations, please start by choosing your country here.



Privacy | Membership Agreement | Help 

Copyright © 2003-2019 mylanguageexchange.com