Language Exchange Partners Teachers
Learners: Find Teachers  Create Profile FAQ's Login
Teachers & Schools: Find Learners  Create Profile FAQ's Login
Welcome Guest!   Log in   Sign up
Find Teachers    Find Learners    Self-study
Self-study: Lessons  - Quizzes  - Articles  - Create
Welcome Guest!

Home
Online Language Courses
Jobs
Contact Us
Join!

Read Teacher Reviews - Ivana Jelisavcic

Review of Ivana Jelisavcic by Alex and all follow-up messages:

Rating Comments
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Alex
September 8, 2016


Lead Acquired:
May 9, 2016

Hours of Instructions:
10
Very helpful!

I had studied Croatian/Serbian in college and had spent time traveling in the region. After an extended period in the US I felt my language skills slipping away. Ivana has been great at helping me stem the outgoing tide and start to build those language skills back up and my confidence is slowly coming back. I have nothing but good things to say about Ivana and the sessions we have had over Skype so far. I look forward to continuing to work with Ivana going forward.



Add a follow-up message (Ivana Jelisavcic or Alex only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Karla
September 13, 2015


Lead Acquired:
April 27, 2015

Hours of Instructions:
20
Great teacher, very knowledgeable, flexible, and fun.

I've been taking Bosnian lessons from Ivana for 4 months now. She is a great teacher! I already knew a little about the language, and she was great at adapting the lessons accordingly. The lessons are via skype, but it is not any different than taking language lessons in person. In fact, for a better price, you get personalized lessons rather than one size fits all (like some language schools).
We use a Serbian book, but she makes sure to always point out the subtle differences with Bosnian. It feels like I'm learning two languages at the same time :)
It is clear that she has tons of experience teaching languages. She is excellent at explaining complicated concepts (like cases) and if you ask, she would explain where some words and expressions come from. I have learned so much in the past few months. I recently went to Bosnia and friends and family were impressed with my language skills. I understood a lot more and I was able to put some sentences together and have simple conversations.
I would strongly recommend Ivana to anybody who is interested in any of the languages she teaches.



Add a follow-up message (Ivana Jelisavcic or Karla only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Matthew
July 21, 2014


Lead Acquired:
July 24, 2013

Hours of Instructions:
30
Knowledgable, full of resources for learning and has a very flexible schedule.

Ivana has been an incredible resource and a great help in my learning of the Croatian language. Besides her knowledge of the language she has also brought many different resources to me that have helped me learn vocabulary and proper structure of the language. She has kept me motivated and increased my knowledge over the past year. My schedule often is a bit chaotic and Ivana has been very flexible and understanding each time that I needed to make a scheduling change (24 hours in advance). While we have done all lessons through Skype or Google Voice I have also meet Ivana in person while traveling through Slovenia and she is a wonderful person who I enjoyed getting to know better. If you are willing to put the time into learning the language then Ivana can be a great resource for you.



Add a follow-up message (Ivana Jelisavcic or Matthew only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Kathleen
July 14, 2014


Lead Acquired:
December 8, 2013

Hours of Instructions:
20
Excellent teacher--responsive, patient, creative and flexible teaching style

I'm so glad I found Ivana to help me learn Serbian! After finding my father's family in Serbia and Croatia, I want to be able to have real conversations with them on my visits.

Ivana is an excellent teacher: she is very patient and responsive to my pace and style of learning, and is willing to explain something many different ways until I get the (sometimes difficult) Serbian grammar. She also is able to explain the idioms since she is a native speaker. And most important, Ivana has a great sense of humor!

We use Skype and email, which work as well as any classroom, and are much more convenient and efficient. At my request, Ivana has put me in touch with some other willing students so we can practice speaking and writing with learners at our level. At my next trip to Eastern Europe, I expect to be able to speak a bit with relatives and friends. If you want to learn a language she teaches, I highly recommend Ivana as your teacher!



Add a follow-up message (Ivana Jelisavcic or Kathleen only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Philip Hudson
September 2, 2011


Lead Acquired:
March 30, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
10
I am having a great time learning!

For years I thought that if I had enough will-power I could teach myself a new language with books, tapes, computer material .... I was wrong!

With Ivana's instruction I have made more progress in a very short amount of time than I had using my "old method". I have found the one-to-one lessons invaluable. The lessons are strongly grounded in grammar that build naturally on themselves.

I look forward to each week's lesson and plan to continue. Thank you Ivana!



I wanted to follow up from my original comments hoping to encourage other language learners. I have been studying on and off for a while. I have probably taken 120 hours of lessons from Ivana. I am an older learner – an age that is thought of as being too old to pick up a new language. When I first began and ordered the textbook that we have used my first inclination was to flip through the book. When I looked at the last couple of chapters I thought to myself – “There is no way I will be able to learn this – what have I gotten myself into?”
The initial panic passed and I have been studying with Ivana for a few years. I never thought I was making any significant progress. I am always reading on the internet that you can learn a language in 12 weeks if only you follow their hacks. Maybe I needed hacks??
This past week I picked up the textbook after probably 6 months without looking at it and started working on the 2nd to last chapter. I was translating the 1st section and was about halfway through when I realized that not only did I understand everything, I only needed to look up a couple of words (and even these I understood through context or parsing before looking them up).
The point I am trying to make is that Ivana kept things interesting while teaching me the “nuts and bolts” of the language. We jumped around from the text book, but also mixed in comic books, articles, speaking, cultural discussions, advertisements, etc.… If I had a question I would email it to Ivana and she would always help me out.
Now I am speaking Croatian every day with my wife, although I imagine it as a Croatian cave-man may have talked. I think my speaking will continue to improve. It pleases my wife that I can understand her conversations and take part in family conversations.
If you have a spouse that wants to teach you, that’s great, but try to imagine if you had to teach English to somebody else. Do you think you could explain the difference between a gerund and a present particle or a 1st conditional sentence vs. a 2nd? These are things as native speakers we know instinctively. There are no language hacks that you can pull off if you want to learn a language. If you only want to be able to say a few sentences in Croatian because you are taking a holiday there then Ivana can help you. If you want to really learn the language then you really need her help. The 120 hours of lessons that I took is the equivalent of about one year of formal classes in a school setting. Even if I lived in an area that offered formal training the one-on-one tutoring is really the most efficient and cost effective way to learn a new language. If I can do it so can you.
Thank you Ivana for all of your support, encouragement and friendship -- Phil


- Philip Hudson
- March 8, 2016


Add a follow-up message (Ivana Jelisavcic or Philip Hudson only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: K
July 16, 2011


Lead Acquired:
April 5, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
8
Ivana is flexible, understanding, and really knows her stuff.

Ivana is very thorough in her work with explaining the why behind grammar and difference between languages. She takes her time to explain things and points out how to recognize something. I have not met her in person, but she is very efficient in making time for skype and teaching through skype. It does not take away from the lesson and it is easy to schedule a lesson that fits my schedule. She is incredible and I would reccomend her to anyone who wants to learn Croatian or Serbian. SInce she lived in Belgrade she has the understanding of the differences between both languages.



Add a follow-up message (Ivana Jelisavcic or K only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Dominique
October 26, 2009


Lead Acquired:
August 19, 2008

Hours of Instructions:
52
Patient, constructive, and most importantly, an amazing teacher.

I've been learning Serbian with Ivana for the past year. First and foremost, I can't express how much I appreciate the way Ivana works with me to understand how I learn in order to shape and explain the lessons in terms relevant to my understanding. She provides constructive criticism that facilitates my comprehension of the Serbian language, and, moreover, her wit and attention to formal versus colloquial uses in language provide an added dimension to my learning experience.

I highly recommend Ivana to anyone interested in learning Serbian. She is able to teach from anywhere in the world- we have met both in person and online (via Skype) for our lessons which have been equally effective. Overall, Ivana is patient, constructive, and most importantly, an amazingly gifted teacher.



Add a follow-up message (Ivana Jelisavcic or Dominique only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: KevinW
July 7, 2009


Lead Acquired:
May 14, 2008

Hours of Instructions:
20
Ivana is tops when you need to learn a language

I was doing a trip around former Yugoslavia and felt I needed to at least learn the basics of the language. Ivana went beyond that -- she taught me the grammer, culture, and the right things to say and know to prepare me for Eastern Europe.

I strongly recommend Ivana for learning any of the languages she teaches.



Add a follow-up message (Ivana Jelisavcic or KevinW only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Bob M
October 16, 2008


Lead Acquired:
October 19, 2007

Hours of Instructions:
70
Ivana is patient, skilled, and a wonderful teacher whom I would recommend highly.

I am not one to stick with something if I am not enjoying it or feel like I am getting somewhere. I have been studing with Ivana for a year and plan on continuing to study with her. This is an indicator of how effective she is. If you are looking for someone who is patient, very skilled at teaching, can individualize lessons, and can help you work through difficult spots in a pleasant way, she's your person.

I decided to take Serbian Language lessons after I returned from a trip to Montenegro in 2007. I studied with Ivana for several months and then I went back to Montenegro and Serbia in September of 2008. I was truly amazed, as were my wife, sister, and relatives in Montenegro, at how much Serbian I knew and how well I spoke it. I was able to understand general concepts and communicate just about anything I needed to (Ivana is correct when she says you need to learn grammar and she teaches it very well). I attribute this success to Ivana's patience, her ability to structure lessons to my needs, and to gently encourage me to do more. She has a knack for knowing pace at which you learn best, and she continually integrates cultural aspects into the lessons. Therefore, you get the language and the culture it communicates about.
I could go on and on about her abilities and skills, but, if you give her the opportunity, I am sure you will not be disappointed. Since I have returned, I look at each lesson with excitement and can't wait to return to Montenegro & Serbia to apply my new language skills. She makes learning fun.

Bob M.



Thanks Bob!
It has been a pleasure working with you through Skype, and I hope to meet you in person some time soon :)

- Ivana Jelisavcic
- October 23, 2008


Add a follow-up message (Ivana Jelisavcic or Bob M only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Mira
September 10, 2007


Lead Acquired:
November 9, 2006

Hours of Instructions:
100
Don't miss this language learning opportunity!

Ivana Jelisavcic has been my language teacher for the past year. I feel like I have made a tremendous amount of progress in that time. She is an incredibly gifted linguist who makes learning interesting and fun. Her teaching method is practical and flexible to fit the needs of her clients. She is good at detecting your pace and is very thorough in catching areas that need further work. I not only feel that I have been learning the language through our lessons but also learning about the cultural implications of the language. Ivana's passion and interest in teaching immediately comes across when you meet her. Although Ivana is dedicated to her part-time work as a linguist for Google, she is good at managing time and always goes out of her way to make scheduling easy for clients. I feel that I have gained so much from this experience. I highly recommend studying language with her and am positive you will find it worthwhile as well!




Add a follow-up message (Ivana Jelisavcic or Mira only)





View Teacher Profile






Featuring over 91 languages, including...
English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Korean, Chinese (Mandarin), Chinese (Cantonese), Portuguese, Russian, Thai, Swedish, Greek, Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Middle Eastern), Arabic (Moroccan), Arabic (other)

Online courses and tutors:
English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Korean, Chinese (Mandarin), Chinese (Cantonese), Portuguese, Russian, Thai, Swedish, Greek, Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Middle Eastern), Arabic (Moroccan), Arabic (other)

To view all languages, please click here.

Featuring locations all over the world, including...
London, New York City, Toronto, Buenos Aires, Montreal, Los Angeles, Chicago, Paris, Sydney, Tokyo, Tehran, Kuala Lumpur, Madrid, Melbourne, Houston, Istanbul, Taipei, Boston, Barcelona, San Diego, Atlanta, Bangalore, Seattle, San Francisco, Bangkok, Mumbai, Vancouver, Singapore, Dallas, Philadelphia, Manchester, Miami, Chennai, Karachi, Shanghai, Beijing, Sao Paulo, Cairo, Dubai, Seoul, Washington DC, Brisbane, Manila, Moscow, Hyderabad, Ottawa, Portland, California, Calgary, Lahore, Auckland, Lima, Orlando, Delhi, Jakarta, Perth, Dublin, Zagreb, Columbus, Rome, Denver, Sacramento, Milan, Phoenix, Detroit, Mexico City, Ankara, Pittsburgh, Athens, Birmingham, Minneapolis, Las Vegas, San Jose, Osaka, Quebec City, Berlin, Bucharest, Brooklyn, Edmonton, Glasgow, Pune, New Delhi

To view all locations, please start by choosing your country here.



Privacy | Membership Agreement | Help 

Copyright © 2003-2019 mylanguageexchange.com