Language Exchange Partners Teachers
Learners: Find Teachers  Create Profile FAQ's Login
Teachers & Schools: Find Learners  Create Profile FAQ's Login
Self-study: Lessons  - Quizzes  - Articles  - Create  
Welcome Guest!

Home
Online Language Courses
Jobs
Contact Us
Join!

Read Teacher Reviews - Winnie Y L Su

Review of Winnie Y L Su by Stacey and all follow-up messages:

Rating Comments
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Stacey
July 30, 2015


Lead Acquired:
March 22, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
48
Exceptional Teacher

I read through Winnie's reviews and the review I am about to write is going to echo a lot of what has already been said.

Winnie is a patient and caring teacher. She has a great attitude and always starts her lessons with a welcoming smile. It is a joy to be her student as it is obvious that she enjoys teaching. Winnie provides lessons that are tailored to the student's needs (i.e. conversation, business, travel, etc.) and these lessons are delivered in such a way that they build upon previously learned materials. She has the ability to recognize when review is required or when concepts have been grasped. Winnie also provides materials which the student can review and study on their own time. I have found her style of teaching to be effective, enjoyable, and not overwhelming.

Winnie also is understanding and flexible. I live in another time zone and she has accommodated to have our lesson at a time that works for me. She is also considerate of my busy work schedule and when I've had to cancel lessons, she worked with me to schedule a make-up lesson or resume at our next scheduled lesson - I very much appreciate this.

My experience has been very positive. I, like many others, highly recommend Winnie as a teacher if you are looking to take lessons. I look forward to continuing my Cantonese studies with her.

Do1 ze6 lou5 si1!



Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Stacey only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Alex
February 24, 2015


Lead Acquired:
January 2, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
48
A great teacher! (skype experience)

A year ago I started to study catonese with Winnie and I am very happy with my experience.

At first I was scared because I had never studied the language and because I had never had lessons by skype but worries disappeared very quickly.

She has many learning materials that help you a lot and their classes are very organized.(she give you all the materials, topics, etc)

Also I must say before start to study with her I was worried because my English is not very good (it's not my native language) but, who cares?
She is a very patient and sweet teacher who always give you the best for make you improve.

Winnie has shown me that she really loves to teach and help people achieve their goals, no matter how difficult it could be, she can fits to your needs.

So I recommend Winnie for anyone who is looking to learn cantonese.

Thank you.



Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Alex only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Eric Langen
May 31, 2014


Lead Acquired:
August 6, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
40
Great Teacher

Winnie has been a very informative teacher for me over the past year. She gives a very detailed explanation of each sentence we review which in turn allows me to expand my knowledge of Mandarin.

Her lessons are very detailed and she provides sentences that are common among native speaker conversations. These are sentence structures that you are not able to find in normal Chinese textbooks or online lessons. With this, I have been able to speak more confidently with native speakers and allowed me to understand some of their conversations.

Her lessons have been very valuable to me and I look forward to continuing being taught by Winnie.

Eric



Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Eric Langen only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Ravi
May 13, 2014


Lead Acquired:
May 3, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
30
Learn Mandarin with ease

I am still learning Mandarin with Winnie. I am so lucky that my wife found Winnie for me. I was a complete stranger to the Chinese Language. Having moved to Canada from The UK, I was forced to work with Mandarin speaking clients. It was a complete nightmare to me and it is at that time that learning the language became a reality.
When I started to learn Mandarin, I did not know a single word in Mandarin. Over the past five months ( one to two lessons per week) I became comfortable in the language. I now greet my clients in Mandarin and use simple sentences with them. I am still in the process of improving my Mandarin skills and have no doubt will get there with Winnie’s help.
I find Winnie as an efficient and well- organised teacher. She is very flexible with her time and schedule and it is fun to learn Mandarin with Winnie. She tailors the lessons according to my needs. She has her own style of teaching, with regular reviews of the previous lessons. She is very encouraging and supportive.
I highly recommend Winnie for anyone who is looking to learn Mandarin.




Thank you very much Ravi.

I was always very happy when I heard that you can communicate verbally in Chinese with your clients more confidently. I admire your efforts and diligence which lead you to success. You devoted a lot of time practicing Chinese out of class . You practiced the new words, the sentence structures and the conversation everyday and master the basic skills of the Chinese language very quickly.

Thank you again and I wish you keep progressing in your Chinese and your business is becoming more and more prosperous.

- Winnie Y L Su
- May 21, 2014


Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Ravi only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Karen P
August 20, 2013


Lead Acquired:
May 26, 2013

Hours of Instructions:
20
Excellent Learning Experience. Highly Recommended!

Winnie was everything I wanted in a language teacher.

I started out with very little speaking knowledge of Cantonese. After a couple of months of instruction twice a week (and lots of practice), my comprehension has improved significantly and I am able to converse comfortably about various different topics.

Her lessons are organized and structured. The topics are practical and useful. Her teaching techniques and excellent command of both English and Cantonese make her a great instructor.

It's been a fantastic learning experience. Thank you Winnie!



Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Karen P only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Kyle
May 26, 2013


Lead Acquired:
August 27, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
35
Phenominal and patient instructor

I started taking Cantonese lessons for the first time ever back in October of 2012 with Winnie. I had hesitations at first considering I didn't know what to expect and had never taken up a second language.

After my first few classes with her, my hesitations immediately went away. I became very comfortable grasping the concepts of the language and her style of teaching. She has very carefully mapped out lessons plans to help cater to EACH persons own personal needs. I think her greatest quality is that she's one of the most patient, kind and understanding instructors I have ever worked with. Anytime I was struggling to grasp the concepts and the tones, she always continued to encourage me positively and helped me correct my mistakes.

She is extremely welcoming if you plan to take private lessons at her home. She makes a wonderful variety of different teas (caa4). One of the most important things i look for in an instructor is a sense of patience and an understanding for the students needs. She takes so much time and effort to make sure her students learn and perform the best they can.

Although I have only spent 7 months under her teaching (due to starting school), I will be seriously considering back for more lessons when time becomes more available for me to broaden and enhance my cantonese speaking skills. I have gained more interest in learning the Cantonese language after these 7 months

Do1 Ze2 Su tai2 tai2 for teaching me so much in the Cantonese language ... not just to know how to say things, but also the understanding and meanings behind the language. I would highly recommend Winnie as a top consideration if you are looking for a Cantonese instructor. I am greatful for everything you have done to help me.

All the best to you Winnie.

Kyle



Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Kyle only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: 2PARA
September 7, 2012


Lead Acquired:
June 3, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
19
Excellent Teacher, highly recommended.

lǎo shī Winnie Y L Su I would like to thank you for putting up with my busy schedule.
I am living in Hangzhou, where I am now a student at Zhejiang University Yuquan campus. I arrived on the 30 August from the minute the aircraft touch down; I started to use what you taught me. It started with the Chinese Custom Officer, I booked a train ticket from Shanghai to Hangzhou, ordered food at a restaurant, took a taxi to my hotel all communication was in Mandarin. I did not understand a few things, but I figured out how to say what I need in a different ways. I needed to listen to what was been said carefully. We had about 20 lessons. And you covered everything that I needed so far. I am surprise at how well I am doing.
Your Planning and Preparation, your instructional techniques were all excellent. You picked up on my weakness and positively reinforced them throughout all lessons.
You created a positive class environment, making me feel very comfortable. Even when I was making repeated mistake, you used your sense of humor to get me over the obstacle. You established an environment of respect and rapport, establishing a culture for learning,
Your communication was very clear. The way you used questioning and discussion techniques, made my learning environment a positive one. You provided instant feedback to enhance my learning experience.
I would recommend you to any one who is looking for a Tutor or Teacher. Please feel free to give my email to anyone as a reference.

I would like to thank you for giving me the skills necessary to transition into the Chinese Culture. You are an excellent teacher, and I feel indebted to you. Thank you very very much



Hi Tony:

I am very glad to know you’ve arrived in Hangzhou, China safely and everything is perfect. I am especially happy to know that you can use / speak very good Mandarin in Hangzhou and communicate very well with the local people. It’s really amazing that you made such rapid progress in a short time! There is nothing better that to see student making progress in Chinese study. Mandarin is not easy to learn, but your diligence and passion give you assurance, build your self-confidence and lead you to success. I am so proud of you!

Thank you very much for your good words and the great favor you did for me. I am very grateful to you for all your kindness and trust. It's always so good to work with you.

I wish you enjoy your stay in Hangzhou with greater improvement in Mandarin study.

If you have any questions in your Chinese study or there is anything that I can help, please let me know.

Winnie


- Winnie Y L Su
- September 20, 2012


Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or 2PARA only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Jacqueline O
May 1, 2012


Lead Acquired:
November 29, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
21
Cantonese Lessons

Winnie is a fantastic teacher!

She is very well organized and takes time to plan out each lesson for you so you can gain the proper understanding of the language.

I have no background in Cantonese. Winnie has made my experience with learning this language an amazing journey. She has boosted my confidence alot with the few months I have had her as my teacher. I look forward to each lesson I have with her, which is once a week!

I would highly recommend Winnie as a teacher. To me she is the ideal teacher to have when it comes to learning a new language. She really takes time and interest in you.

She is committed to helping you learn this language and you can really tell she takes pride in the work she does. I really appreciate her patience and kindness towards me in respect to learning Cantonese. She makes me feel extremely comfortable.

Thank you so much Winnie, I look forward to our next lesson!

Jacqueline Olson








Thank you so much for your kind words, Jacqueline.

I am very happy and lucky to have taught you as a student. You are one of the best students I had. I appreciate your diligence and efforts in your study. You try very hard to memorize new words and sentence structures after each class and seize every opportunity to practise Cantonese with the native speakers. You are a fast learner, and I am so glad to see that you've improved rapidly in only a short time.

With diligence and persistence, I am sure you'll make further progress in Cantonese. I'll try my best to help you.

You are so kind and considerate and I got a lot of trust and support from you. Thank you!

Winnie

- Winnie Y L Su
- May 7, 2012


Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Jacqueline O only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Jolin Chan
April 2, 2012


Lead Acquired:
November 14, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
40
excellent experience with Winnie's skype lessons!

I am a beginner in Cantonese without any previous experience in this language. I took lessons with Winnie over skype on the internet and had a lot of improvement even in a short period of time. I leaned a lot of basic conversation skills and can now speak quite confidently.

Winnie has very systematic, organized, and practical lesson plans. She used many different teaching tools to help me learn to speak quickly. She was also able to tailor her lessons according to my needs and progress. Winnie has been an excellentand highly helpful teacher to me. Being able to learn over the internet via skype has also been convenient and effective!



Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Jolin Chan only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Nathan
September 7, 2011


Lead Acquired:
January 22, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
27
Structured organized courses to suit your level

Winnie is a friendly highly qualified instructor. Lesson content is very organized and thorough. Each lesson is tailored to suit your specific needs

Nathan




Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Nathan only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Remi
March 20, 2011


Lead Acquired:
November 29, 2010

Hours of Instructions:
20
Ideal for those of us who wants to learn with no hassle.

Winnie is an excellent teacher.

Before contacting her, I couldn't speak one word of chinese. Within the span of a few months, I was able to develop a base for speaking the cantonese dialect; which is lets face it a pretty hard task for someone with no background such as me.

Her biggest strength is to tailor each class based on your need, either it is for business or for personal reasons. Until I don't resent the need anymore, I plan to continue to attend her classes for the intermediate level and learning how to write.

The private lesson also comes with tea; and don't forget to study :-)



Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Remi only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Victoria Lee
December 15, 2010


Lead Acquired:
October 17, 2010

Hours of Instructions:
23
Excellent Teacher

I was a complete beginner with no background in speaking Cantonese and my lessons with Winnie have taught me a lot about Cantonese. She is doing a great job with teaching me Cantonese from the beginning and I thoroughly enjoy every lesson with her.

Winnie has a great approach to teaching. She explains concepts clearly in a way that is easy to understand and is well-prepared for each lesson. She is an encouraging and patient teacher. She is very approachable for asking questions and communicating any interests in topics that you would like to learn. She uses visual aids and handouts effectively to teach class material. Her handouts are well-prepared and serve as great references for practicing outside of class. Her exercises in class are very helpful and effective for practicing and reinforcing new material. I highly recommend Winnie as a teacher.



Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Victoria Lee only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Angie
July 26, 2010


Lead Acquired:
January 6, 2010

Hours of Instructions:
40
Great Teacher!

I wanted to brush up on my Cantonese and Winnie did a great job in helping me do that! She answered all my questions and taught me exactly what I wanted to know.

She explained everything well and even went beyond that to prepare for lessons (provided background information, recordings, different learning/visual cues - pictures, menus, exercises). She reviews everything with you from previous lessons and encourages you to speak more Cantonese if possible.

She prepares each lesson especially for you and will teach you anything you want to know. Winnie is a very accommodating, flexible, patient, and kind teacher!



Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Angie only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: dave_c
July 14, 2010


Lead Acquired:
January 2, 2010

Hours of Instructions:
48
Exceptional teacher for Chinese

Winnie is a phenomenal teacher and who truly enjoys what she does. I have been receiving private lessons from Winnie on a weekly basis for 6 months now and have seen my grasp of the Chinese language grow considerably. She puts a lot of effort in preparing lessons that are catered to my interests and level of understanding. If you want to learn Chinese, I absolutely recommend Winnie! She is professional, caring and truly wants you to learn. I look forward to many more lessons from Winnie.



Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or dave_c only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Rain
July 8, 2010


Lead Acquired:
December 18, 2009

Hours of Instructions:
35
learned a lot

Winnie has been a VERY patient teacher. She has great knowledge and background of the material she teaches. From my experience with her, I believe Winnie is able to cater the lessons to the specific needs of each student. She cares about the student and cares about the lessons that are taught, which I believe is what makes a great teacher. It is definitely a transformative experience learning Chinese with her.



Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Rain only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Brice M
March 3, 2010


Lead Acquired:
October 7, 2009

Hours of Instructions:
32
Fantastic teacher

Winnie is a fantastic teacher. I have been taking weekly lessons with her for several months, and she has prepared every one of them with a truly impressive dedication. She has written many short surveys with vocabulary sheets on subjects I have expressed interest in, translated and provided vocabulary for related Chinese original texts, and lent me bilingual books. Aside from this extra material, every lesson includes custom-made texts, new grammar points, recordings, different types of exercises both for the lesson and after.

She is also cheerful and always full of energy, a pleasure to work with.

This is my first experience studying a language through one-on-one lessons. I chose Winnie based on her reviews on this site and they have proven accurate.



Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Brice M only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Jonathan Krehm
January 2, 2010


Lead Acquired:
March 24, 2009

Hours of Instructions:
10
Winnie is an excellent teacher

I have taken Cantonese lessons from Winnie for about 6 months .
Winnie is an excellent teacher. Her lessons are well organized .
She is patient , and enthusiastic. I would highly recommend her to anyone considering studying with her.
Jonathan Krehm



Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Jonathan Krehm only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Yu Ling
October 29, 2008


Lead Acquired:
August 6, 2008

Hours of Instructions:
12
Winnie is an excellent teacher

I am taking one-on-one lessons with Winnie. I think that she is a fantastic teacher.

She is professional, organized and experienced. I think that she has a talent for teaching, and is not merely a native Chinese speaker who is proficient in Chinese.

She tailors her approach to my interests, level, and objectives and is very committed and encouraging.

Winnie is also very cheerful, patient and kind. These personal qualities and her skill at teaching make her, in my view, an ideal teacher.

I enjoy my lessons with Winnie and I highly recommend her!



Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Yu Ling only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Anna
June 6, 2008


Lead Acquired:
February 13, 2008

Hours of Instructions:
32
Winnie is an excellent teacher.

Winnie is an incredible teacher. She takes the time to tailor the classes to your level and needs. Winnie has been a lot of fun to work with and I would recommend her as a teacher to anyone. She is very flexible in her teaching style and is happy to accommodate any learning requirement - whether you are a beginner or advanced. I have seen the level of my Chinese improve significantly since Winnie became my teacher.



Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Anna only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Vladimir
January 25, 2008


Lead Acquired:
October 28, 2007

Hours of Instructions:
40
Professional and very friendly teacher.

Chinese is my fourth foreign language and I can compare. Winnie is an exceptionally good and talented teacher. I enjoy every lesson and that is the most important when you are learning.
She prepares very helpful materials and every lesson I learn a lot. I can highly recommend Winnie for beginners and also believe that she is a good choice for advanced students as well.



Add a follow-up message (Winnie Y L Su or Vladimir only)





View Teacher Profile






Featuring over 91 languages, including...
English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Korean, Chinese (Mandarin), Chinese (Cantonese), Portuguese, Russian, Thai, Swedish, Greek, Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Middle Eastern), Arabic (Moroccan), Arabic (other)

Online courses and tutors:
English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Korean, Chinese (Mandarin), Chinese (Cantonese), Portuguese, Russian, Thai, Swedish, Greek, Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Middle Eastern), Arabic (Moroccan), Arabic (other)

To view all languages, please click here.

Featuring locations all over the world, including...
London, New York City, Toronto, Buenos Aires, Montreal, Los Angeles, Chicago, Paris, Sydney, Tokyo, Tehran, Kuala Lumpur, Madrid, Melbourne, Houston, Istanbul, Taipei, Boston, Barcelona, San Diego, Atlanta, Bangalore, Seattle, San Francisco, Bangkok, Mumbai, Vancouver, Singapore, Dallas, Philadelphia, Manchester, Miami, Chennai, Karachi, Shanghai, Beijing, Sao Paulo, Cairo, Dubai, Seoul, Washington DC, Brisbane, Manila, Moscow, Hyderabad, Ottawa, Portland, California, Calgary, Lahore, Auckland, Lima, Orlando, Delhi, Jakarta, Perth, Dublin, Zagreb, Columbus, Rome, Denver, Sacramento, Milan, Phoenix, Detroit, Mexico City, Ankara, Pittsburgh, Athens, Birmingham, Minneapolis, Las Vegas, San Jose, Osaka, Quebec City, Berlin, Bucharest, Brooklyn, Edmonton, Glasgow, Pune, New Delhi

To view all locations, please start by choosing your country here.



Privacy | Membership Agreement | Help 

Copyright © 2003-2019 mylanguageexchange.com