Language Exchange Partners Teachers
Learners: Find Teachers  Create Profile FAQ's Login
Teachers & Schools: Find Learners  Create Profile FAQ's Login
Welcome Guest!   Log in   Sign up
Find Teachers    Find Learners    Self-study
Self-study: Lessons  - Quizzes  - Articles  - Create
Welcome Guest!

Home
Online Language Courses
Jobs
Contact Us
Join!

Read Teacher Reviews - Gabriela Anderson

Review of Gabriela Anderson by Daphne and all follow-up messages:

Rating Comments
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Daphne
July 12, 2013


Lead Acquired:
June 5, 2013

Hours of Instructions:
8
Great way to learn French!

I signed my son up for lessons with Gabriela this summer. I want him to have a second language and as I had taken some French in college, we chose French. I expected the typical class/lesson I had received in college. But Gabriela's lessons far exceeded my expectations. She is a fantastic teacher, but what makes her class unique is her immersive approach. You learn the language the way language it meant to be learned. From her, in our short time together, I learned more than I did with my college studies. In addition to our lessons, she provided us with appropriate links which further reinforced the French language and culture. What you get with Gabriela are individual lessons that target your goals. Thank you, Gabriela!



Add a follow-up message (Gabriela Anderson or Daphne only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: natka
July 7, 2013


Lead Acquired:
November 1, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
100
Incredible teacher - intelligent, responsible, good-natured person

Once upon a time I got angry with myself and decided to put an end to my ignorance in English. I've already been settled in Dallas for five years and couldn't string two words together in English. Both my husband and I went online and got absorbed in looking for a teacher.
Our choice was Gabriela Anderson; we didn't know why her ad attracted us.
For six months I took English lessons with Gabriela.
Initially, I must admit, I was so scared of English that I nearly fainted whenever I heard it.
Now all that is in the past. I can express myself maybe not as well as I would like to but pretty well, thanks to what Gabriela has taught me.
I've met not only a teacher but an intelligent responsible and good-natured person.
Thanks to Gabriela my outlook was widened, and I learnt a lot about American culture, history, and people.
Together we listened to TV news and read books, and I learnt much that was new to me about American movies, writers, famous singers, actors, etc.
And I have to say that my life became much more interesting because my English is now fairly good.
Thank you once again, Gabriela!



Add a follow-up message (Gabriela Anderson or natka only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: sophia777
May 27, 2013


Lead Acquired:
October 23, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
54
Incredible teacher - I couldn't ask for more!

Learning from Gabriela has been a joy, to say the least. Even within the first few weeks, I was delighted by the progress we'd made together and the incredibly fast results; within only a few months time, my ability to express myself with both accuracy and comfort has far exceeded my expectations. Gabriela's knowledge of and instruction in pronunciation is likewise impeccable as she makes it a core aspect of language-learning, and it is through her guidance that I have gained the confidence in my French voice. Grammatical concepts, as well, are presented in clear and digestible lesson plans that seek the most efficient method of mastery.

But one thing that makes Gabriela's language teaching approach all the more special is its adaptability and personalized quality. Gabriela is always willing to focus on the subjects that interest me the most and fine-tune the program to my needs. My learning has gone far beyond formal textbook structure, giving me insight into more colloquial conversation as well as an invaluable, in-depth look into French culture and history. Gabriela has even expanded my understanding to the songs (everything from classical to pop), literature, and films that are integral to a French upbringing so I can better grasp this foreign perspective. She also put together a really fun, day-long immersion program that even included a home-cooked taste of France!

French class with Gabriela is truly something I look forward to every week. Those few hours have turned into more than just learning the language, but a time for me to grow as a person and expand my world view to other people and cultures beyond my own. Each class is truly more rewarding than the next; I could have gained no better entry into the French language and culture than with Gabriela. Her expertise in language and culture is one that I will always trust and admire.




Add a follow-up message (Gabriela Anderson or sophia777 only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Vicki
October 15, 2012


Lead Acquired:
January 19, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
60
I felt so prepared.

In preparation for my third trip to Romania, I wanted to be able to actually communicate with my hosts so I looked online in hopes of finding a teacher in the area. I found Gabriela’s website and set up a meeting. From the first interaction, I was impressed with her curriculum and style. As an English teacher, I am very familiar with the structure of language. Gabriela presented the Romanian language in a very logical way. Not only did we work on listening and speaking but also on reading and writing in Romanian. Instead of rote memorization of phrases and responses, I learned the structure of the language so that I could frame my own questions and responses. Besides teaching the language, she also presented many different aspects of the history and culture of Romania and the Romanian people. Upon arriving in Romania, I felt very capable of understanding and communicating with my hosts. In fact, several times, I was called upon to translate for other members of my group. I absolutely recommend Gabriela to anyone hoping to learn a new language and culture.



Add a follow-up message (Gabriela Anderson or Vicki only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Samantha
January 8, 2012


Lead Acquired:
November 2, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
14
Highly Recommended, Excellent Teaching Skills

I have always been intrigued with the Italian culture and its people, so I searched for an instructor to help me learn the language. After coming across Gabriela’s website, I felt confident she was the instructor I had been looking for. Fortunately, her teaching skills and lesson plans greatly exceeded my expectations. Not only is Gabriela a superior instructor, she is a joy to spend time with. Her passion for foreign language and teaching others is contagious and motivating. She immediately recognized my skill level and interests, and then planned accordingly to provide appropriate learning materials. I was surprised to see how quickly I learned grammar, which allowed me to understand complex texts in parallel with basic conversation. I found the classes to be challenging, yet achievable.

Gabriela is positive, friendly, and reliable; it is easy to see that she truly enjoys teaching her students and helping them attain their goals. I highly recommend her; you will not be disappointed!



Add a follow-up message (Gabriela Anderson or Samantha only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Lynn
October 20, 2011


Lead Acquired:
May 17, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
40
Wonderful Italian Teacher! Fun and Creative!

My teenage daughter and I plan on traveling to Italy in the near future and wanted to know enough of the language to get around and converse with ease. Learning with Gabriela has been just what my daughter and I wanted. Not only are we learning to speak (and read and write) in Italian, but our lessons are filled with culture, history, cuisine, art, music --- all the things we are passionate about. That is what makes Gabriela’s courses so unique and wonderful; they are tailored to each individual student’s needs and interests.

Gabriela makes our lessons interesting, relevant and fun, all things we appreciate given our busy schedules and demand for mind share. She manages to keep both of us engaged and challenged during our lesson. My daughter and I meet with Gabriela together, but are at different levels with the language (my daughter is also studying Spanish in school, so much of the vocabulary is very familiar to her), and with our interests and knowledge of culture, history, etc. Gabriela is sensitive these differences as well as our shared interests, and plans each lesson with care to be sure to cover enough vocabulary and language building skills as well as cultural and historical elements to keep us interested and make the time just fly by. Her knowledge runs deep not only of the Italian language but of the country’s culture, history, art, music, everything --- I am thoroughly impressed with the scope of Gabriela’s knowledge and her easy style of teaching and conveying what she knows to others. It is obvious that teaching is a gift with which Gabriela has been graced and something that she truly enjoys. I feel that my daughter and I are learning the Italian language as well as many other points of interest about the culture and history of the country, and that we will be well-prepared for our trip.

Gabriela’s style, structure and approach to language immersion are wonderful and I would highly recommend Gabriela to anyone interested in learning a new language.




Add a follow-up message (Gabriela Anderson or Lynn only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Christina
August 30, 2011


Lead Acquired:
January 3, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
65
Patient, Fun, Flexible and Fast

I began Romanian lessons with Gabriela with the idea of learning a few words and phrases so that I could communicate better with my husband's family in Romania. My original plan was to take a month of lessons so that I could understand general concepts, and then later to study vocabulary on my own. I am a lawyer working at a big firm downtown and do not have much free time to devote to studying and at times have an unpredictable schedule, which made me reluctant to commit to lessons every week. At the end of the first month, however, the lessons were so enjoyable, and I was learning so much (even with so little time for independent study) that I decided to continue. Gabriela was very flexible in accommodating and rescheduling when I had to cancel my regular lesson. Overall, I continued the lessons for eight months! As we progressed, Gabriela began using an integrative approach, using cultural discussions involving comparisons between Romanian and American literature and the depiction of European and American politics and history to expand my understanding of grammatical concepts and vocabulary. This approach kept me interested during class in a way that merely practicing sentences and vocabulary would not have. Gabriela also incorporated many different subjects for our vocabulary lessons, including general words about working in an office as well as specific legal vocabulary. I recently had a chance to practice my Romanian with my husband's cousins and was very pleased both with my ability to understand their conversation and also to participate. The office where we had our lessons was very comfortable and the ability to watch movies and listen to others speaking has helped me to understand spoken Romanian greatly. I am confident that I would not have continued with any other lessons for this long, nor would I have learned as much from another approach. I believe that I now have the ability to continue my Romanian studies independently by reading literature that Gabriela introduced me to in class.




Add a follow-up message (Gabriela Anderson or Christina only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Sheby
June 18, 2011


Lead Acquired:
June 15, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
40
Quick foundation in French.

I wanted to learn French in anticipation of future work in global health. I appreciate that Gabriela was sensitive enough to tailor her lesson plans to my personal needs. She incorporated medical vocabulary into the curriculum and adapted the structure of the class to fit the style and pace of my learning.

Furthermore, Gabriela is very knowledgeable about French culture, and her commentary on the French history enhanced my understanding of both the French and English languages. Her passion for languages was apparent in that she made every effort to provide comprehensive explanations for all my questions, including procuring a large variety of online-sources and examples.

With Gabriela as my patient guide, I feel that in the last 6 months, I have quickly gained a solid foundation in French.



Add a follow-up message (Gabriela Anderson or Sheby only)





View Teacher Profile






Featuring over 91 languages, including...
English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Korean, Chinese (Mandarin), Chinese (Cantonese), Portuguese, Russian, Thai, Swedish, Greek, Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Middle Eastern), Arabic (Moroccan), Arabic (other)

Online courses and tutors:
English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Korean, Chinese (Mandarin), Chinese (Cantonese), Portuguese, Russian, Thai, Swedish, Greek, Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Middle Eastern), Arabic (Moroccan), Arabic (other)

To view all languages, please click here.

Featuring locations all over the world, including...
London, New York City, Toronto, Buenos Aires, Montreal, Los Angeles, Chicago, Paris, Sydney, Tokyo, Tehran, Kuala Lumpur, Madrid, Melbourne, Houston, Istanbul, Taipei, Boston, Barcelona, San Diego, Atlanta, Bangalore, Seattle, San Francisco, Bangkok, Mumbai, Vancouver, Singapore, Dallas, Philadelphia, Manchester, Miami, Chennai, Karachi, Shanghai, Beijing, Sao Paulo, Cairo, Dubai, Seoul, Washington DC, Brisbane, Manila, Moscow, Hyderabad, Ottawa, Portland, California, Calgary, Lahore, Auckland, Lima, Orlando, Delhi, Jakarta, Perth, Dublin, Zagreb, Columbus, Rome, Denver, Sacramento, Milan, Phoenix, Detroit, Mexico City, Ankara, Pittsburgh, Athens, Birmingham, Minneapolis, Las Vegas, San Jose, Osaka, Quebec City, Berlin, Bucharest, Brooklyn, Edmonton, Glasgow, Pune, New Delhi

To view all locations, please start by choosing your country here.



Privacy | Membership Agreement | Help 

Copyright © 2003-2019 mylanguageexchange.com