Language Exchange Partners Teachers
Learners: Find Teachers  Create Profile FAQ's Login
Teachers & Schools: Find Learners  Create Profile FAQ's Login
Self-study: Lessons  - Quizzes  - Articles  - Create  
Welcome Guest!

Home
Online Language Courses
Jobs
Contact Us
Join!

Read Teacher Reviews - Cathlin Barrett

Review of Cathlin Barrett by Leanne and all follow-up messages:

Rating Comments
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Leanne
June 27, 2013


Lead Acquired:
January 28, 2013

Hours of Instructions:
19.5
A great teacher & a great way to learn French

My husband and I wanted to learn basic French for our planned trip to France. Cathlin was the perfect teacher for us & provided a great learning environment. The lessons were tailored to suit our individual needs. Every lesson was well planned, varied in format & above all very enjoyable with lots of laughs! Homework was set for us to complete during the week which really helped consolidate what we had learned. We found what we had learned very helpful during our trip. I would thoroughly recommend Cathlin for anyone wanting to learn the lovely French language.



Add a follow-up message (Cathlin Barrett or Leanne only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Charlotte
March 27, 2012


Lead Acquired:
July 23, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
32
Great teacher

I have been extremely pleased with the way Cathlin teaches. I have gone from knowing no french at all when I started last august to being able to book a restaurant on line, in french.
What I like the most is the varied form that the lessons take. We usually go over the homework that Cathlin has set, then do some conversation, role playing or listening/comprehension work. This is in the space of a 2 hour lesson which seems to fly by, although my head is often spinning by the time I leave. Perhaps, if you are a total beginner then a 90 min lesson may be good to start with.
As I am going to France this year she has made the lessons relevant to what my needs are, which would not have been achieved in a large group setting. Also she tries to mainly speak in french when I am having a lesson, but not to the extent that I feel lost.
I really don't have anything negative to say as she is always a joy to see and have taught me more french in a short space of time than I had imagined possible.



Add a follow-up message (Cathlin Barrett or Charlotte only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Suzie Wong
July 22, 2011


Lead Acquired:
February 3, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
35
A delightful, extremely competent teacher.

Cathlin is a warm, generous person whose sound teaching methods make her ideal as a teacher of language. A friend and I have attended two-hour classes with her over the past five months, in preparation for time to be spent in France.

With thorough preparation for each lesson, a variety of teaching approaches, content tailored to our individual progress and a genuine love of the French language, Cathlin provides the best learning environment for my French language needs. Classes are relaxed yet professional and it is wonderful to enjoy the humour which arises from our many mistakes, at the same time being gently guided along the correct path.

I could not be more pleased with Cathlin as our teacher.

Jenny



Add a follow-up message (Cathlin Barrett or Suzie Wong only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Albert
June 10, 2011


Lead Acquired:
February 5, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
45
To those who wish to learn I highly recommend Cathlin to people of all ages.

As I am 66 years old it was with some trepidation that I set myself the task of learning a new language. However, Cathlin put me at ease immediately and is making this project a thoroughly enjoyable one. Saying that, she does expect that I keep progressing on a weekly basis, setting homework between each lesson which she expects to be done.Therefore, the goals are set with measureable weekly progress being achieved, something that is always a good motivator.

I recommend learning one on one. Each lesson she prepares beforehand and is tailored to my progress and needs. The lessons revolve around real life situations, thus are always interesting and relevant. If you want to learn French, oral and written, that will stand you in good stead when you go to France I believe that Cathlin is the teacher you need.

Albert



Add a follow-up message (Cathlin Barrett or Albert only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Claire
March 29, 2010


Lead Acquired:
July 15, 2009

Hours of Instructions:
14
Cathlin est un brillant professeur! Highly recommended

Cathlin is a highly skilled and professional french teacher.
With a large amount of experience, I found her teaching methods to be very effective.I learned a large amount in a small amount of time. Lessons were structured to suit our needs and were cleverly planned, starting with the important and useful base knowledge first, of which I found after just a few weeks I could more easily understand, correctly pronounce, and further learn more of the french language outside of class time without needing assistance.
Cathlin is a lovely and very approachable person, creating an environment where you feel comfortable to ask questions and make mistakes.
I highly recommend Cathlin :)





Add a follow-up message (Cathlin Barrett or Claire only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: R
February 11, 2010


Lead Acquired:
August 27, 2009

Hours of Instructions:
25
Awesome teacher who will meet your requirements

Cathlin is an excellent teacher, with plenty of experience in both French and English teaching.

Her knowledge of language functions in her native language, contributes greatly to her ability to understand and teach the functions of French.
She will devise a learning plan which best suits you, and is interested in your learning style and will cater to it.
She is always well prepared for the lessons, and will devise homework which is excellent for consolidating what you learnt in class.
She is very sensitive to students needs, and will clarify any points which you may need help with.
Her experiences with French culture also add to the relevance and vibrancy of her lessons.
She uses multiple different exercises in class, to build the language skills of speaking, reading, listening and writing if that's what you want. She will tailor the lessons to suit your needs.

She is a talented teacher, and a great person, creating the perfect environment to feel comfortable to learn. I would highly recommend her, whatever your French learning needs may be.



Add a follow-up message (Cathlin Barrett or R only)





View Teacher Profile






Featuring over 91 languages, including...
English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Korean, Chinese (Mandarin), Chinese (Cantonese), Portuguese, Russian, Thai, Swedish, Greek, Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Middle Eastern), Arabic (Moroccan), Arabic (other)

Online courses and tutors:
English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Korean, Chinese (Mandarin), Chinese (Cantonese), Portuguese, Russian, Thai, Swedish, Greek, Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Middle Eastern), Arabic (Moroccan), Arabic (other)

To view all languages, please click here.

Featuring locations all over the world, including...
London, New York City, Toronto, Buenos Aires, Montreal, Los Angeles, Chicago, Paris, Sydney, Tokyo, Tehran, Kuala Lumpur, Madrid, Melbourne, Houston, Istanbul, Taipei, Boston, Barcelona, San Diego, Atlanta, Bangalore, Seattle, San Francisco, Bangkok, Mumbai, Vancouver, Singapore, Dallas, Philadelphia, Manchester, Miami, Chennai, Karachi, Shanghai, Beijing, Sao Paulo, Cairo, Dubai, Seoul, Washington DC, Brisbane, Manila, Moscow, Hyderabad, Ottawa, Portland, California, Calgary, Lahore, Auckland, Lima, Orlando, Delhi, Jakarta, Perth, Dublin, Zagreb, Columbus, Rome, Denver, Sacramento, Milan, Phoenix, Detroit, Mexico City, Ankara, Pittsburgh, Athens, Birmingham, Minneapolis, Las Vegas, San Jose, Osaka, Quebec City, Berlin, Bucharest, Brooklyn, Edmonton, Glasgow, Pune, New Delhi

To view all locations, please start by choosing your country here.



Privacy | Membership Agreement | Help 

Copyright © 2003-2019 mylanguageexchange.com